Established in 2009 as a collaborative venture between Festival Awards Ltd, Yourope and Eurosonic Noorderslag, the European Festival Awards is the only event solely dedicated to recognising the collective contributions and achievements of the European festival industry.

Decided by a combination of public vote and the EFA Jury Club, the awards are presented at a ceremony taking place at Groningen’s De Oosterpoort in The Netherlands each January. Year-on-year the event garners millions of votes and welcomes attendees from roughly 300 European festivals.